Cheap Car Insurance for Fort Wayne Drivers
https://insurancekingquote.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/insurance-king-NASCAR-2.jpg has been helping drivers drive legal for less since 2001.
https://insurancekingquote.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/insurance-king-NASCAR-2.jpg has numerous discounts available including multi-policy, multi-car, prior insurance, and good drivers discounts. Our agents will help you find the policy that best suits your needs and your wallet.
Call us today for a low cost car insurance quote and let an https://insurancekingquote.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/insurance-king-NASCAR-2.jpg Agent calculate your savings!
A SR-22 is not an insurance policy; it’s simply a financial responsibility form proving that you have insurance coverage. The SR-22 is filed with your state by your insurance company and certifies that you carry the minimum liability coverage on your car insurance policy.
SR-22 for drivers that do not own a vehicle can be filed with a “non-owners” policy.
If you do not own a motor vehicle, you must purchase “non-owners” liability coverage. This policy provides liability to a vehicle you drive that you do not own. “Non-owners” policies typically are discounted. However, if you purchase a vehicle you must endorse your non-owners policy to an auto policy to remain covered and legal to drive.
The SR-22 must be submitted from an insurance company licensed in the state for which the SR-22 is required, and has the authority or “power of attorney” to issue an SR-22. Our office maintains a listing of authorized agents and companies.
An SR-22 requirement can be issued by the Secretary of State based on a judgement in a county court. Depending on the state you live in SR-22’s are usually required for 12-36 months. Some states require these to be consecutive months, meaning that if you are late on a payment you have to start the SR-22 all over. SR22, also known as high risk auto insurance, could be required of drivers for several different reasons, including:
Driving under the influence (DUI)
Driving with a suspended or revoked license
Having an at-fault accident while driving uninsured
Multiple moving violations or tickets within 12 months
Being behind on Traffic Citation Payments
Being behind on Child Support Payments
Other major moving violations, such as reckless driving
Unsatisfied judgment suspensions
The Indiana Department of Motor Vehicles requires an Indiana SR-22 or Indiana SR50 insurance certificate to be filed for license reinstatement.
Similar to an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility, an Indiana SR50 insurance certificate (affidavit of current insurance), is a rider to a driver’s primary insurance policy. An Indiana SR50 insurance certificate is a requirement for license reinstatement, as well as a guarantee to the Indiana Department of Motor Vehicles that the driver will remain properly insured for a required period of time. This form shows the Department of Motor Vehicles the beginning and ending dates of the current policy.
To reinstate driving privileges from a mandatory suspension, suspended drivers will be required to pay a reinstatement fee and will be required to have an SR50 form filled out and returned to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
If the policy expires or is cancelled, the insurance provider immediately notifies the Indiana DMV by submitting an SR26 filing. This will cause the driver’s license being suspended or revoked again, resulting in additional fines, fees or other penalties.
Usually, drivers under this requirement are expected to carry Indiana SR50 insurance for a period of three years, keeping it in effect with no lapse in coverage.
Offenses that require Indiana SR50 insurance include:
DUI or DWI offense
Refusal to take a breath or blood test
Operating an uninsured vehicle / uninsured accidents
Multiple driving offenses / excessive points on a driver’s record
Child support or neglect cases
Indiana SR50 insurance can be purchased as an owner/owner-operator policy for those who own a vehicle, or as a non-owner policy for those who do not own a vehicle.
Indiana minimum required insurance coverage limits:
Uninsured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $25,000/$50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Under insured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $50,000